WATTSHIP
Blog / Chinese EV
Chinese EV

How to Import a Chinese EV: Duties by Country, Right-Hand Drive and Range (2026)

WATTSHIP · 12 min read · October 23, 2026

Importing a Chinese electric car comes down to four checks: how the car legally leaves China, whether it exists with the steering side you need, what your country charges or restricts on the day it arrives, and which test cycle produced the range figure. The price on a Chinese listing covers none of these.

This guide answers those questions in order. WATTSHIP’s Chinese EV database records export channel, right-hand-drive availability and range figures per model, and the landed cost tool turns duty inputs into a total. Rules for these cars change often. Every rule below names its authority and the date we read it (22 October 2026), and the full source list is at the end. This is general information, not legal, customs or financial advice.

CHINESE EV DATABASE
Cyan neon, the Chinese EV look. Scroll on: duty, range and the test cycles you can play with.

How does a Chinese EV legally leave China?

A Chinese EV reaches a foreign buyer through one of three routes: a factory export programme, the grey (parallel) channel, or not at all because the model is sold only in China. The three groups are WATTSHIP’s own planning classification, not a legal category.

What is a factory-export Chinese EV?

The manufacturer runs an overseas programme for the model, so the car is prepared for specific markets and sold with a local support path. Prices are set per market and can differ from the Chinese listing price. In the WATTSHIP database, 26 of the 30 models recorded are flagged officially_exported (counted from chinese-ev-db.json on 22 October 2026). The flag is informational and is not a statement that a given car is legal in your country.

What is the grey channel for Chinese EVs, and what changed in 2026?

The grey channel is third-party export of cars bought in China, without the manufacturer running the export. Two Chinese rules took effect on 1 January 2026 and affect it.

  • Export licences for pure electric passenger vehicles. China’s Ministry of Commerce, Ministry of Industry and Information Technology, General Administration of Customs and State Administration for Market Regulation announced on 26 September 2025 that export licence management for pure electric passenger vehicles starts on 1 January 2026. Xinhua and Global Times report that qualifications and procedures follow a 2012 notice (MOFCOM Notice No. 318 [2012]) and that the reference customs code is 8703801090. We did not read the official announcement text itself.
  • Letter for newly registered vehicles. A November 2025 notice from the Ministry of Commerce, the Ministry of Industry and Information Technology, the Ministry of Public Security and the General Administration of Customs (dated 11 November 2025 in the text reproduced by IT Home) says that from 1 January 2026, an export application for a vehicle within 180 days of registration (180 days included) must be supplemented with an after-sales service confirmation issued by the vehicle’s manufacturer, and that vehicles without it are not issued an export licence. Equal Ocean reports the same rule. We did not read the text on the Ministry of Commerce website.

In the WATTSHIP database, 3 of 30 models are flagged grey_channel_affected. Ask any seller whether the car has the manufacturer’s paperwork for your destination, and treat a quote far below the factory-export price as a reason to ask more questions.

What does a domestic-only Chinese EV mean for importers?

Domestic-only models have no overseas programme and may have software or hardware tied to China. One of the 30 database models is flagged domestic_only. Importing one usually means arranging approval and support yourself, if your country allows it at all.

Export status of the 30 Chinese EV models in the WATTSHIP databaseFactory export26 of 30Grey channel3 of 30Domestic only1 of 30Counts as recorded in the WATTSHIP Chinese EV database, 22 October 2026.
The three export channels for Chinese EVs. Counts are from the WATTSHIP Chinese EV database (30 models, 22 October 2026). Informational only.

Can you get a right-hand-drive Chinese EV?

Some Chinese EV models are built in right-hand drive, many are not, and the answer is specific to the model, trim and market. In the WATTSHIP database, 19 of 30 models are marked rhd_available, which our schema defines as a factory or converted right-hand-drive option existing (counted 22 October 2026).

  • A factory right-hand-drive build and a conversion are different products. Conversions can raise questions about warranty, airbag and crash-test status and registration, so ask your registration authority before buying.
  • Factory right-hand-drive Chinese EVs exist in practice. For example, The Driven reported on 3 August 2022 that BYD launched its right-hand-drive Atto 3 in Australia.
  • The database field rhd_markets notes which right-hand-drive markets apply per model. Confirm availability for your country and trim in writing before ordering.
Right-hand drive is decided per model, trim and market. Check the exact variant.

Are Chinese EVs subject to tariffs? Duties by market

Yes in several large markets, and the rate depends on where you import. The figures below are what each named authority said on the date we read it. They change often, so confirm the current rate for your vehicle’s tariff code before you commit.

Measures by market, as read 2026-10-22: EU countervailing duty by producer (BYD 17.0%, Geely 18.8%, SAIC 35.3%, Tesla Shanghai 7.8%, other cooperating 20.7%, other 35.3%) from 30 October 2024; United States additional 100% duty from 27 September 2024; Canada quota of 49,000 EVs a year at 6.1% from 1 March 2026; Mexico, Brazil and Turkey as reported by press or an advisory alert. The duty explorer needs JavaScript.

Are Chinese EVs subject to tariffs in the EU?

Yes. The European Commission says definitive countervailing duties on battery electric vehicles built in China apply from 30 October 2024 for five years under Implementing Regulation (EU) 2024/2754. The rate depends on the producer.

ProducerCountervailing duty
BYD Group17.0%
Geely Group18.8%
SAIC Group35.3%
Tesla (Shanghai), on application for individual examination7.8%
Other cooperating companies20.7%
Other non-cooperating companies35.3%

Source for the table: European Commission, Access2Markets, read 22 October 2026. These duties are in addition to the ordinary customs duty. Austria’s Federal Ministry of Finance states a 10% duty on passenger cars from non-EU countries, and the exact rate for a vehicle depends on its TARIC code, so check TARIC. For a producer at 35.3%, the two add up to 45.3% of the customs value, before VAT. The regulation was later amended by Implementing Regulation (EU) 2026/330 of 9 February 2026. We could not read its operative text, so check the consolidated version for the current figures.

Price undertakings. On 12 January 2026 the Commission published guidance on how Chinese exporters can offer minimum import prices. On 10 February 2026 it announced that it accepted a price undertaking from Volkswagen (Anhui) Automotive Company Ltd. and SEAT S.A. for the CUPRA Tavascan. The model is exempt from the countervailing duties only while it is exported at or above the agreed minimum price, within the volume commitment, and with the investment milestones met. The Commission says failure to comply may lead to withdrawal and retroactive reinstatement of the duties. We did not find an official full list of accepted undertakings, so check the Commission’s trade pages before assuming a model is exempt.

Can I import a Chinese EV into the UK?

The UK is outside the EU, so the EU countervailing duties do not apply to a car imported into Great Britain. GOV.UK says customs duty and VAT are usually due at the border, that the duty rate depends on the vehicle type and where it comes from, and that you must get vehicle approval, usually Individual Vehicle Approval for an unregistered vehicle. GOV.UK does not list the rate on those pages, so confirm it with HMRC or the UK Trade Tariff.

Bloomberg, republishing a Times of London report, said on 6 October 2026 that the UK was preparing import levies on Chinese EVs. The article had no on-the-record statement from the UK government. We found no official confirmation, so treat this as unconfirmed and check HMRC before you buy.

Are Chinese EVs subject to tariffs in the US?

Yes. A Federal Register notice of 18 September 2024 (USTR, Section 301) set an additional 100% ad valorem duty on listed electric passenger vehicles under HTS 8703.60, 8703.70, 8703.80 and 8703.90 for goods entered on or after 27 September 2024. Semafor reported on 28 September 2026 that the administration has maintained the 100% tariffs. Other tariffs may apply on top, and we do not quote a combined rate.

A separate measure is the Bureau of Industry and Security connected-vehicle rule. BIS says the rule is effective 17 March 2025 and covers vehicles under 10,001 pounds. It restricts connected vehicles and related hardware and software linked to China or Russia: the software restrictions start with model year 2027, the hardware restrictions with model year 2030 (1 January 2029 for hardware without a model year), and importers and manufacturers file annual declarations of conformity. We did not check for amendments after the Federal Register publication of 16 January 2025.

Separately, US Customs and Border Protection says that, as a general rule, a motor vehicle less than 25 years old must comply with all applicable Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards to be imported permanently. Whether a particular Chinese-market EV could be imported at all is a question for CBP, the Department of Transportation, the EPA, BIS or a licensed customs broker. For the 25-year rule in detail, see our 2025 auto tariff explainer.

Can I import a Chinese EV into Canada?

Canada changed its policy in 2026. The Department of Finance announced on 26 August 2024 a 100 per cent surtax on Chinese-made EVs, effective 1 October 2024. Global Affairs Canada now says Canada implemented, on 1 March 2026, an initial country-specific quota of 49,000 EVs per year from China at the most-favoured-nation tariff rate of 6.1%. Its page lists a first period to 31 August 2026 (Notice Serial No. 1162) and a second period from 1 September 2026 (Notice Serial No. 1168), with year-one utilisation ending 28 February 2027.

The page we read does not state the rate for imports above the quota. Trade press (electrive, 4 March 2026) reports that permits are issued first-come, first-served and that vehicles beyond the quota face the 100% tariff. Check the Global Affairs Canada notices to importers and Transport Canada’s vehicle safety rules before relying on this.

Can I import a Chinese EV into Mexico?

Mexico News Daily reports that cars from China and other countries without a free trade agreement with Mexico face a 50% tariff from 1 January 2026, up from 20%, under changes published in Mexico’s Official Gazette in late December 2025. We did not read the Official Gazette decree itself, so confirm the tariff line and rate with Mexican customs or a customs broker.

Can I import a Chinese EV into Brazil?

Electrive reports that Brazil’s import tariff on fully assembled EVs was 10% when introduced in January 2024, rose to 25% by July 2025 and rises to 35% from 1 July 2026, following a schedule set by the Gecex-Camex trade committee. The same report says the preference for EV assembly kits is ending in stages ahead of 1 January 2027. We did not read the Gecex resolution, so confirm with Brazilian customs.

Can I import a Chinese EV into Turkey?

EY’s tax alert says that a Presidential decree published in Turkey’s Official Gazette on 22 September 2025 (Decree no. 10436) abolished the additional duties that applied to China-origin vehicles, including the 40% additional duty on electric vehicles, and introduced new blanket rates for cars from most origins. For electric cars the alert lists 30% or US$8,500 per vehicle, whichever is greater. The alert also notes a conflicting decree number inside the same article, and we did not read the Official Gazette, so confirm the current rate with Turkish customs.

Can I import a Chinese EV into Australia, the UAE, Kenya, Pakistan, Bangladesh or Nepal?

This guide does not state duties or approval rules for these countries, because we have not verified them from a customs authority. Ask your national customs authority or a licensed customs broker for the current duty, age limit, steering-side and type-approval rules for the exact vehicle and tariff code. Use the same four checks from the top of this guide.

CLTC vs WLTP: how should you read a Chinese range figure?

A CLTC range is not comparable with a WLTP or EPA range for the same car. CLTC is the China Light-Duty Vehicle Test Cycle, and its passenger-car version (CLTC-P) is a slower cycle than WLTP.

CycleDurationDistanceAverage speed (with stops)Maximum speed
CLTC-P1,800 s14.48 km28.96 km/h114.00 km/h
WLTC Class 3b1,800 sabout 23.3 kmabout 46.5 km/h131.3 km/h

Source: DieselNet cycle pages, read 22 October 2026. The WLTC average speed is DieselNet’s distance divided by duration, calculated by us from its table. A slower cycle with less high-speed driving generally produces a higher range number for the same car, and published CLTC figures are generally higher than WLTP figures.

In the WATTSHIP database, 21 of 30 models carry both a CLTC and a WLTP figure. In 19 of them the WLTP figure is lower, and in two the figures are equal. The median WLTP figure is about 18% below the CLTC figure. These are database entries as recorded, trims differ within a model, and the numbers are not a conversion rule.

The International Council on Clean Transportation published a 2023 analysis of 2021 operating data from battery electric cars in five Chinese cities and reported real-world ranges below nominal values, with low temperatures and higher speeds among the reasons. Our used EV battery health guide and EV total cost of ownership guide cover what to check next.

In the WATTSHIP database the median WLTP figure is about 18% below the CLTC figure across the 21 models that carry both. The range reveal tool needs JavaScript.

CLTC-P: 28.96 km/h average, 114.00 km/h maximum, 14.48 km. WLTC Class 3b: about 46.5 km/h average, 131.3 km/h maximum, about 23.3 km. Both last 1,800 seconds (DieselNet). The race animation needs JavaScript.

Which charging connector does a Chinese EV use?

China’s national standard is GB/T and Europe’s DC standard is CCS2, and the two DC plugs are different designs. Wolfspeed’s technical article describes GB/T as China’s national standard with an AC connector similar to but not compatible with the European Type 2 plug, and CCS2 as combining the Type 2 connector with DC power pins. Regulation (EU) 2023/1804 has an annex headed as a Combo 2 connector requirement for DC recharging points for light-duty vehicles. Confirm the inlet on the exact car, and what adapter or modification your country allows, before you buy. Our home charging cost guide covers the charger side.

GB/T and CCS2 are different standards. Check the inlet on the exact car.

What about software, warranty and service?

Navigation, apps, voice assistants and over-the-air updates can be set up for China. A factory-export car normally comes with a local support path set by the manufacturer, while a grey-channel car may not. Ask who services a high-voltage fault, how long parts take, and what features are disabled outside China. In some countries a car also needs crash-test or approval data, so ask the importer for it.

What is a simple decision path for importing a Chinese EV?

Work through these six questions in order:

  1. Is the model in a factory export programme for my market?
  2. Does it exist in the steering side I need?
  3. What duty or restriction applies in my country, and from which date?
  4. Which range cycle is the figure from, and what range would I expect in my climate?
  5. Which connector, which software, which service network?
  6. What is the landed cost with confirmed duty, and what happens if rules change before the car arrives?
  1. Is the model in a factory export programme for my market?
  2. Does it exist in the steering side I need?
  3. What duty or restriction applies, and from which date?
  4. Which range cycle is the figure from?
  5. Which connector, software and service network?
  6. What is the landed cost with confirmed duty?

Browse model-level data in the Chinese EV database or the BYD catalogue hub, and run the numbers in the landed cost tool. If you are comparing against a used Japanese EV, see how to import an EV from Japan.

Frequently asked questions

Are Chinese EVs subject to tariffs in the US?

Yes. A Federal Register notice of 18 September 2024 sets a 100% Section 301 duty on listed Chinese electric passenger vehicles for goods entered from 27 September 2024, and Semafor reported on 28 September 2026 that it remains in place.

Are Chinese EVs subject to tariffs in the EU?

Yes. Countervailing duties on China-built battery electric cars apply from 30 October 2024 for five years: 17.0% for BYD, 18.8% for Geely, 35.3% for SAIC, 20.7% for other cooperating producers and 35.3% for non-cooperating ones, on top of the ordinary customs duty.

Does the EU duty apply if I import a Chinese EV into the UK?

No, the UK is outside the EU, so the EU countervailing duties do not apply. UK customs duty, VAT and vehicle approval do apply, and a 6 October 2026 press report says the UK may add levies, which the government has not confirmed in the article we read.

Can I import a Chinese EV into Canada in 2026?

Global Affairs Canada says an initial quota of 49,000 EVs a year from China at a 6.1% most-favoured-nation tariff was implemented on 1 March 2026. Check its notices to importers for permit rules and the rate above the quota.

What is the difference between CLTC and WLTP range?

CLTC-P is a 1,800-second cycle with a 28.96 km/h average and 114 km/h maximum speed, while WLTC Class 3b averages about 46.5 km/h with a 131.3 km/h maximum. The cycles are different, so the numbers are not interchangeable.

Do Chinese EVs come in right-hand drive?

Some do. In the WATTSHIP database 19 of 30 models are marked as having a factory or converted right-hand-drive option, and availability depends on model, trim and market.

What changed for Chinese EV exports on 1 January 2026?

China began export licence management for pure electric passenger vehicles, and a separate notice requires a manufacturer-issued after-sales service confirmation for export applications on vehicles within 180 days of registration. Both are reported from state media and trade-press reproductions of the notices.

What is a grey-channel Chinese EV?

It is a car exported by a third party without the manufacturer running the export. It may lack local homologation, a valid warranty abroad and market-ready software, so ask for documents for your destination.

Which charging connector do Chinese EVs use?

China’s domestic standard is GB/T, and Europe’s DC standard is CCS2. The DC plugs are different, so confirm the inlet on the exact car and your country’s rules.

Sources

All pages were read on 2026-10-22 unless a note says otherwise.

This guide is general information, not legal or financial advice. Duties and import rules change; confirm current figures with the named authority or a licensed customs broker before you buy.

Line up your freight, FX & cover

WATTSHIP may earn a referral fee on qualifying purchases through these partner links.

Related Reading

FLUX · Chief Engineermi · USD